Home / Academics / Prominent Scholars

The Changjiang (Yangtze River) Scholar Program, also known as Cheung Kong Scholars Program was jointly established by the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China and Li Ka Shing Foundation in 1998 with the goal of improving the academic position of domestic colleges and universities, and rejuvenating China's higher education. Dinstinguished Professor Post System and Changjiang (Yangtze River) Scholar Award have been set up in the program in a bid to carry out the strategy of revitalizing the nation through science and education, support the construction of "Project 211", attract and cultivate outstanding talents, and accelerate the team building of young and middle-aged academic leaders.

The National Hundred, Thousand and Ten Thousand Talents Project is a nationwide collaboration of seven state departments (the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security, the Ministry of Science and Technology, and the Ministry of Education, etc.), as requested by the advancement of science and technology as well as economic and social development. The project is in an effort to strengthen the team construction of high-level professionals, and spped up the pace of selecting and cultivating academic and technological leaders for the young generation.

The National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars aims to promote growth of young scientific talents, to encourage overseas Chinese scholars to work in China, and to quickly usher a big group of prominent academic leaders into the forefront of world science and technology. The Fund specially supports excellent young Chinese scientists who work domestically or abroad but plan to return soon, in the fields of basic research and applied basic research.

The Distinguished Teacher Award is an important part of the Teaching Quality of Education Reform Project in Colleges and Universities by the Ministry of Education.The project is evaluated every three years and 100 distinguished teachers are chosen each time.The award is designated to encourage professors to teach and reward those who have made outstanding contributions to teaching and teaching reforms.

Sponsored by the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security as well as the Ministry of Education, the evaluation of national model teachers is held in recognition of the outstanding contributions to the education cause made by model teachers.The award is aimed at carrying forward their noble virtues and advanced ideas, further inspiring great mass of teachers and educators, and creating a new situation in education.

Established in 1990, the award is open to teachers and students in universities sponsored by Project 985, Project 211 or supported by province-ministry co-construction universities.It boasts the highest prize awarded by Education Fund of State-owned Enterprises. Over the past 20 years, a total of 3270 teachers from over 100 colleges and universities, as well as 18 institutes directly affiliated to the Chinese Academy of Sciences have been granted Baosteel Excellent Teachers Award.